To all the hard working children and youth workers out there…

This post is about being overwhelmed.

I really felt it today. Work was tough. And I was reminded a lot today that it’s important; and that there’s so much stuff I haven’t done yet.

At one point I locked my office door and hid under the desk. So I couldn’t be seen, so I could have some privacy, so I could escape just for a minute or two. It’s not the first time I’ve thought about doing that, but it is the first time I’ve done that.

I got home and I entered a large pile of receipts into the budget. For last month. Because that is something I have been putting off since the eighth (I can be so precise because the receipts are dated).

Then I cried.

Because I needed to get changed and get on my bike and go to youth group. Because I still haven’t cleaned the bathroom and we have guests coming. Because there is an increasing pile of drinks cartons that I haven’t washed yet and can’t recycle until they’ve been rinsed but for a reason I can’t explain to myself I would rather hide them in a rucksack then put them by the sink. Because tomorrow I need to shop and clean and we have a youth group party to prep and then have. Because I can’t remember the last time I had a day where I didn’t have to get up. And because I can’t see the next time that is going to happen in the future.

And I know I am not the only one.

I know that it’s not just Sunday School teachers and youth workers. But I know that for most of us it’s an extra thing we do as well as having a job, or a family, or both. That we have friends, family, church commitments, hobbies, chores and the Christmas shopping and it never seems to stop.

But I also know that Jesus felt it too.

As far as I know he never hid under a desk. But he did climb a mountain, early in the morning, to get away from the demands of his life (John 6:15).

That he felt overwhelmed and as though he needed to escape (Matt 26: 38)

And that he stood up and tackled those things as well. (Luke 9:51)

And that is a great, great news. It’s not wrong to hide. It’s not wrong to cry. And because he knows what I feel like. Because he knows how to get on with it. Because he is with me all the way.

I can go on…

Leave a Reply

